Ambient turbulence model

Dear WAsP Team,

I'm studying Geophysics and Meteorology and
currently i'm working at my Bachelor Thesis.
One topic of the thesis is a survey of the connection between
ambient turbulence and terrain complexity.
In one chapter, i want to describe how the ambient turbulence
is modelled by WEng 3.0. I don't have to know every little step.
But i have to give an overview of the whole process with the main facts.

So the first input is the Generalised Wind Climate(.lib file).
With this information WEng predicts a wind flow over the turbine site,
with the LINCOM model but in a slightly different form.
But how does it works exactly?

I know that the basic equations are the mass and momentum equations.
Then there are lots of conversions until we get to the set of the linear
equations, like in ris-r-900 page 13.
Is the reason for these conversations to transform the nonlinear to linear equations?
These equations are solved with a fourier transformation?!
Do the solutions of these equations represent the predicted wind flow?
Please correct me if there is anything wrong.

With this results the WAT tool models the ambient turbulence TI_WEng?
Which model is used? Is it the one from Mann 1994 (uniform gradient turbulence model)
or from Kaimal 1972 (spectral and exponential coherencemodel) ?
And how does these models work?

I know these are a lot of questions, but it would be very nice if someone could help me.

Best regards
Timm
  • 2 weeks later...
Hi Timm,

The report you have , Ris-R-900(EN), is a good introduction to the WEng flow model, LINCOM. In addition, I recommend Ris-R-1107(EN) for details on how WEng models surface roughness over water and Ris-R-1179(EN), chapter 2, for details on how the flow equations are solved.